I. Am. Enough.

“I am enough.”

A friend wrote these words in an email to me this week and they really resonated. By coincidence, I’m also in the middle of reading “Daring Greatly” by Dr. Brene Brown and she spends several chapters discussing the voices that we carry with us that consistently suggest that we are not enough. Parents, spouses, siblings, bosses… and most of all, that persistent and relenting Inner Critic.

How much time do we spend waste debating whether we are enough? Comparing. Coming up short. Doubting and criticizing ourselves. The holiday season is riddled with opportunities for self-doubt. Did I cook a good enough dinner? Did I buy a good enough gift? Do I have a good enough job? How does my level of success… my house… my spouse measure up to that of my siblings or friends? Am I who my parents wanted me to be? Am I a good enough parent?  Am I thin enough or attractive enough?

Brown writes, “We spend inordinate amounts of time calculating how much we have, want and don’t have, and how much everyone else has, needs and wants.  What makes this constant assessing and comparing so self-defeating is that we are often comparing our lives, our marriages, our families and our communities to unattainable, media-driven vision of perfection, or we’re holding up our reality against our own fictional account of how great someone else has it.”  And in our comparisons, we are almost never enough.

This holiday season, I challenge you to notice when that tendency to compare is creeping into you life.  Banish that voice and stand with confidence in the present, giving yourself the gift of acceptance. In this moment, right now, right here, you ARE enough. Whoever you are, wherever you are, and however much you have.

Really. You are.

One response to “I. Am. Enough.

  1. After our conversation, I reflected on this idea more. We walk around with so many un-tested ideas of what success, beauty, worth, shame, fear and other concepts are…

    Once, a potential coaching client asked me, “And how is it that you think you’re successful enough to tell someone else to do with their life?” My response was to ask him about his idea of success (rather than tell him that I don’t presume to tell anybody what to do!). He talked around an answer, providing plenty of sweeping generalizations, then admitted that he didn’t have one.

    I’ve got this inkling of what success may be for me. In fact, I’m trying it on right now. Part of this is the question “What is ‘enough’?” What does it feel like? Taste like? Sound like? Act like?

    We’ll see if it fits. Oh, so excited to find out.

    Love,
    A Fellow Meadow 🙂

Share Your Thoughts Here:

