Broken Toe Recovery – Week 4

The title of this blog is a bit misleading, since it has actually been 8 weeks since my toe surgery, but it’s my fourth week back to walking/running.

My efforts to run this week using 10 second running/50 second walking intervals have been more successful than last week’s overly ambitious jump into full running minutes.  Tuesday I “ran” 10/50 intervals for a total of 10 minutes, Thursday 15 minutes, and Saturday 20 minutes.  I’m also walking before and after each run so getting in 2-3 miles each session. I’ve iced my toe after each session and am feeling ok, though it is definitely sore for the rest of the day. My physical therapist recommended that I work on extending my total time before I start increasing the running intervals.

Importantly this week I also (finally!) crossed the 15 minute mile barrier that’s been dangling out there for a few weeks, doing my  first sub 15:00 “running” mile at 14:52.  I also walked a 46:03 5K, which is an average of under 15:00 for 3.1 miles, and another significant improvement from last week.  So my running and walking paces are virtually identical at the moment.

Next week my goal is to gradually extend to two miles of “running” using 10/50 intervals.  This is huge exercise in patience!

2 responses to “Broken Toe Recovery – Week 4

  1. Running Gaynor

    It’s great to hear that you’re making progress. It will seem slow at first, but it’s best to be cautious while your body gets used to it. I waited two-and-a-half months after breaking my foot to start run/walking and five months after that break, I’m comfortably running 5ks and training for a 10k. Your patience will pay off in the long run!

  2. Yes, recovery from an injury when you just want to run is a huge exercise in patience! I’m still walking mine out, too! I’m wondering if it’s possible for the “patience muscle” to suffer from an over use injury??? Hang in there!

Share Your Thoughts Here:

