Time for Some Naked Runs

So it’s my 8th week back to running since my toe surgery on March 1st and recovery continues to be slower than I’d like (of course what I’d like is a nice 10 mile run, so it’s all relative).  Today I ran a full mile for the first time.  Which is to say that I ran/walked four miles of 00:15/00:45 intervals, so by the time I was done, I had covered four miles, and run one of them.  Even I can do that math.

I realized while I was out today that I’m spending way too much time looking at my Garmin and stressing about how slow I’m going.  I play little games with the watch, as in “Gee, Mile 1 was 14:40, wonder if I can make mile 2 14:30″… and so on.   And I realized that I’m totally in my head, not enjoying being out there, and treating these runs like an unpleasant chore rather than enjoying getting back to it.  I use my watch to track my distance, but inevitably when I look down it, it’s the damn lap pace that taunts me — reminding me how unbelievably slow I’m going.  So during my run today I decided to leave the watch at home next time and run naked (without it).  This is completely new concept for me… I’ve always had my trusty Garmin, and before that, my trusty Polar.  But here’s what I realized that helped me make the decision.

1. I know where the quarter-mile point is where I usually end my warm up and start running.  I know approximately where the 1, 1.5, and 2 mile points are from my house, where I turn around for 2, 3, and 4 mile runs.  I don’t really need my watch to tell me this and if I’m a few tenths off, does it really matter?

2. I’m working on increasing the distance that I’m running.  My next step is to switch to 00:20/00:40 intervals and then work my way through 2, 3, and 4 mile runs. It really doesn’t matter how fast I’m going.

3. Whatever my speed is right now, it’s much more about how fast I’m walking and not how fast I’m running, since I’m still walking the majority of the time that I’m out there.

Of course, I won’t be completely naked (gadget free) since I’ll still have my interval timer and my music, but I’m actually looking forward to see what it’s like to run without the Garmin and free myself from the pressures of time.

Happy running!

 

One response to “Time for Some Naked Runs

  1. My ‘give myself a high-five’ point was last weekend, when I realized that 1/1 intervals are too slow for me even after injury. Now happy moving to a 2/1. 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words!

Share Your Thoughts Here:

